Krazy For Kimchi 배추 김치!/Loco Para Kimchi 배추 김치

Hello all!! If you’ve been wondering where I’ve been for the last month or so, I have been trying out new recipes and having challenges. I also have been doing a little bit of early Christmas shopping and trying to configure things for my future plans.

I always look to improve my cookery skills in anyway possible, and this past week, I might have just surpassed myself by making Kimchi.. What’s Kimchi, you ask? Kimchi is fermented, spicy cabbage(And other vegetables), common on a lot of Korean dinner tables. The cabbage has a sour taste and is used more as a side dish, but gets used in stews like Pork Kimchi Stew(Kimchi Jjigae-돼지고기 김치찌개), and Kimchi Fried Rice(김치 볶음밥).

I had always liked Kimchi, but didn’t know how to make it.. Until I had a whole sweetheart cabbage that was in danger of going bad in the fridge. I tried to think of ways to make this cabbage go to good use and came across lactic fermented cabbage recipes, and this blog: Crazy Korean Cooking. I set about making this and found it incredibly easy to do. Fermented foods are full of probiotics, due to the growth of good bacteria during the process which releases lactic acid which is good for digestion and the immune system. Here are the pictures of my first time Kimchi Click for Original Recipe Here:

 

 

All this yummy goodness, and all I did was three steps: Brine, drain and season! After the fermentation process, which may take a week, refrigeration is recommended; Although this can keep very well in a cool cupboard for a very good while. ** Please note that when you go onto the webpage for the Kimchi recipe, that if you omit the anchovy sauce/dried shrimp, the flavour will not be that different! So for the sake of my vegan/shellfish allergy/Jewish friends, I did this batch without seafood, and it tasted very good!!

I am now onto my next project: Fermented Chayote, Cucumber and Winter Radish.

 

My beautiful picture
My next Lactic Fermentation project! Created 14/Oct/2016… Waiting for fermentation..

 

So, everyone, watch this space, more recipes coming soon!

 

 

 

Update:

29/10/2016-

The pickling of this finally happened… But it ended up being a touch too salty! So it had to go for that reason.. 😦

The flavours from the spices came through very well,and It would have been better if I’d rinsed it a few times before fermentation. Aw well! Onwards and upwards to more fermentation experiments!

 

Leave a Reply

