Boiled Cows Tongue-Lengua De Res Hervido

Tongue..Isn’t the most likely meat to cook, but with some cultures and households, it is a hit! I was skeptical about this cut of meat..But, after giving it a try and finding out how versatile and tasty it was, I have decided to share my recipe with you guys! Please do not be put off by the fact that it’s an animals tongue.. If cooked correctly and seasoned just the way you like, then you can’t go wrong!
 
 
Cows Tongue Raw Cooking Liquid of Cow Tongue <a

image

1 Cows Tongue scraped and washed in vinegar and water.

 Half an Onion,peeled and sliced.
4 Cloves of Garlic, crushed/chopped.
Bunch of Rosemary, with the leaves stripped and chopped
1 Heaped Teaspoon each of:
Sichuan Peppercorns,Cumin,Coriander
3 Bay Leaves
1 Whole Dried Lime
Water to cover the tongue and other contents in the pot 
Salt and Black Pepper to taste
1/2 of  A Scotch Bonnet Chilli


METHOD

Scrape and wash the tongue(Place the meat on a chopping board, and use a knife or cleaver and scrape away from yourself,in a forwards motion, to get rid of the thick residue.), trying to cut away the sinew. Add  meats, onions,garlic and spices to a pot. Leave to cook in a pressure cooker for 40-50 minutes. If using a slow cooker like I did 2 1/2-3 hours, or overnight on a low simmer. Leave to reduce when tender for around 30 minutes and add extra seasoning if needed. When you are about to prepare the tongue, reserve the cooking liquid, which has lots of flavour. Serve warm in sandwiches, or as part of a cold platter with ham, and other meats traditionally served cold.

13 Comments

  1. Dinie! I just read ALL these comments ALOUD to Steven, who says to tell you HE’S the adventurous one!!!

    You’re such a great personality, Dinie! I’m cheering you on, waiting for Something BIG to happen in your favor!!!

    You’re the Best.

    Like

  2. You’re a love, Dinie. Thank you! And, yes. I find your recipes interesting… and doable… and even enticing, but we’re a couple of old fuddy-duddies; so we pretty much eat the same thing with some variety. Believe it or not. But, for those who like diversity, your recipes are certainly exciting.

    Like

    1. Awww.. Thanks Deli,for all your support throughout the year and I hope there are more recipes that you can eat.. I’m working on more things for people who don’t eat offal and strange foods….Lol!

      Like

  3. Oh, no, no, my love. I do not and will not ever ever ever eat this. Or liver. Or sweetbreads, which I once thought were baked goods. Silly ME. I’m not into any of these foods. I don’t want to hurt your feelings, so this is why I don’t leave comments. I’m laughing, but it’s twue. It’s twue. I know you won’t hold this against me, right? Right? Right? Hahaha. Still, I know that lots of others indulge, so I gladly let them eat my share.

    Like

    1. Nooo Deli.. If you cook cows tongue the right way it can be flavoursome and tasty.. I even made a stew with it!! Give it a try and let Stephen prepare it.. I have videos of how to clean cows tongue and I will forward the links when I put them up..Have a look at the ham and black bean stew..You must have plenty leftovers in the freezer..

      Like

Leave a Reply

