Caribbean Curried Tofu/Quorn-Curry De Tofu/Quorn Caribeno

This is a Vegetarian adaptation of one of the most well known of the Jamaican dishes(Curried Goat)which is full of flavour,spicy,and aromatic….It is quite easy to make, although if you are making your own spice mix, be careful to add only two teaspoon of any spices at a time..The curry should be well spiced, but not bitter, gritty or even mouth numbing due to too much pepper.Be careful not to burn the spices when toasting them!Adapt the spices to your own taste though, as this is merely a guideline.

INGREDIENTS

1 Packet of Firm Tofu/Dried Tofu OR
1 Packet of Quorn(Textured and shaped vegetable protein)
1 Sweet Potato

THE SPICE MIX(If making your own curry powder)

2 Teaspoons of :
Turmeric(Haldi)
(1/2)Teaspoon of Cinnamon
(1) Kalonji/Black Onion Seeds/Nigella Seeds
Cumin Seeds
Coriander Seeds
Mustard Seeds
Paprika(Unsmoked Sweet variety)
(1) Fenugreek Seeds
Whole Pimento/Jamaican Allspice Berries
(1/2) Curry Leaves
1 Whole Scotch Bonnet/Habanero Pepper-See Previous notes on Scotch Bonnets.

Grated Ginger, use a piece around the size of 2 small matchboxes,maybe a little bigger.
1-2 Onions chopped finely
Garlic to taste
1 Tablespoon Dark Soy Sauce
Vegetable Oil

A Small amount of Coconut Milk

METHOD

Put the whole spices, such as the fennel seeds, pimento,etc, into a heated pan on a high heat, without oil. Heat them in the pan, stirring them with a wooden spoon to evenly distribute the seasonings.
The seasonings should start to visibly turn slightly brown and emit a pleasant smell. Turn off the heat, and place the toasted seasonings into a spice grinder/mortar and pestle and grind into a powder.

Take the tofu/quorn out of the fridge,and peel and cube the sweet potato-See ‘Hard Food’recipe to know how to peel and cut root vegetables;and cut the tofu into cubes. When this been done,start to heat a pot and pour in some oil. Start to fry the onions, and then the ginger,turn every so often,so that the spices do not burn. Add the quorn/tofu and sweet potato cubes.Add water-200mls,and let it bubble for at least 10 minutes, then add the coconut milk. Simmer for another 5 minutes, or until the sauce reduces.Adjust seasoning as necessary. Serve with rice and peas, Roti,Hard Food(traditional root vegetables such as,Yam/Dasheen/Cocoyam etc), white rice, avocado, and a salad.

82 Comments

  1. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

    Like

  2. I would comparable to thnkx for the efforts you have place in script this blog. I’m hoping the unchanged high-grade website post as of you in the forthcoming as thriving. Popular fact your creative prose skills has positive me to get my peculiar trap site now. In fact the blogging is spreading its wings quickly. Your enter up is a vast model of it.

    Like

  3. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more from this post. I’m very glad to see such excellent info being shared freely out there.

    Like

  4. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you have put in writing this blog. I’m hoping the same high-grade blog post from you in the upcoming as well. In fact your creative writing skills has inspired me to get my own web site now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a great example of it.

    Like

  5. Admiring the dedication you put into your blog and in depth information you provide. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material. Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Like

  6. Admiring the time and effort you put into your site and in depth information you provide. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed material. Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Like

  7. I believe that is one of the most vital info for me. And i’m happy reading your article. However want to remark on few common issues, The website style is perfect, the articles is really nice : D. Excellent process, cheers

    Like

  8. Good web site! I truly love how it is simple on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your feed which must do the trick! Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

