Chilli Steak-Bistec Con Chile

This is a simple chilli recipe,that uses stewing or flank steak to make a hearty chilli stew with a warming, but not a fiery kick..Try this with ripe plantain,fried sweet potaoes and boiled rice. I hope you try this and adapt this as necessary.

Chilli Beef with Plantain and Rice

    INGREDIENTS

SERVES 4-6

300g Grams of Stewing Steak cubed
1 Onion chopped
2 Cloves of Garlic crushed
1 teaspoon each of: Cumin,Coriander,Cinnamon,Pimentón Dulce and Picanté(Sweet and Hot Smoked Paprika),Ginger, Chilli Powder/2 Birdseye Chillies deeseeded and diced,and Salt and Pepper to taste.
2 Tablespoons of Fresh Rosemary
1 Tin of Chopped Tomatoes/2 Tablespoons of Tomato Paste
250 Grams of Rosecoco/Pinto Beans
Beef Stock to taste
Glass of Light Red Wine, such as Merlot or a Claret.

    METHOD

Firstly wash and drain the meat, then brown in a pot , adding the onion and garlic. Fry for 5 minutes, then add the seasoning and beans. Cover the contents with stock, the wine and water. Cook for 2-3 hours on a low simmer,until both the meat and beans are tender. Serve with white rice,
salad and fried plantain or sweet potato. Enjoy!!

8 thoughts on “Chilli Steak-Bistec Con Chile

    • I understand it is also like the Colombian and Venezuelan ‘Paisa Bandera’… Again another similarity between our countries.. The most simple dishes are the most tasty and in some cases,are now being eaten at fancy restaurants.. For example,look at how many restaurants sell Modongo,Liver,or Pigs Feet.. Things we grew up on and ate as cheap but filling meals..

    • He he… I cook liver frequently for my wife who loves it and pigs feet is one of my favorite dishes. Mondongo people here love but I’m not too much of a fan. People like to stew mondongo and pigs feet together as well.

    • Again,we may cook it slightly differently,but the food is still tasty and
      use the same meats and other things…I dont like liver but due to anaemia,I have to eat something with high iron content…I prefer chicken hearts or gizzards! Te
      ripe I dont mind,Jamaicans eat theirs with lima beans… Look, up the recipe on my blog.. And yes,there is a dish called CALLOS where you cook tripe and pigs or cows feet with belly pork..Just search for Cow Feet #2

    • Yeah, white rice seems too go with everything.. But sometimes its good to pair iron rich meats to iron rich starches too, such as Plantain or Green Banana… I assume you eat unripe banana as a starchy side dish… As well as Okra? I find that pairing them together helps me and I know that health advisors say no more than two servings a week, but I often eat offal at least an extra serving a week when I’m ready to eat offal..Apparently, its full of cholesterol too.. RUBBISH!! I’ve eaten plenty of those foods as well as you have, and we’re still standing!

      This is making me think of more recipes to think up… Not necessarily offal, but some others.. You’ll be kept posted..

    • Cool! yes, we eat bananas, plantains and other musaceae on all stages! We also cook a lot of okra (generally stewed or steamed) Dominicans love all organs and entrails, but while I do like it on occasion, it’s not something I die for.

      Yup! I don’t pay a lot of attention to al the healthy rubbish. I mean, we’re going to live forever!

Leave a Reply

